Who are the most memorable Premier League champions?

  1. Manchester City – Agueroooooo!

The 2010/2011 season had a very special end to it. The Manchester clubs, City and United, had dominated the competition that season and had a big lead over the other clubs. The competition remained a nail bitter until the very last match day. Manchester United faced Sunderland and Manchester City faced Queen Park Rovers. Both clubs had 86 points. The only difference was that City had a better goal difference.

On the last day of the season, Manchester United took the lead in the first half with a goal by no other than Wayne Rooney. The news that City was trailing 2:1 at this point, left United fans ecstatic. Edin Dzeko scored the tying goal for City in the 92nd minute, but everyone thought it was already too late. But then, suddenly, Aguero pushed through the Rovers’ defence and put the ball in the back of the net. The commentator of the game, Martin Tyler, let off an now infamous scream: Aguerooooooooooooo! Manchester City went down as one of the most memorable Premier League champions in history.

Sergio Aguero

  1. Arsenal – The Invincibles

The Arsenal team from the 2003/2004 season is certainly one of the unforgettable Premier League champions out there. Arsenal icon Arséne Wenger was the coach of the club from North London at the time. Arsenal was very successful under the leadership of the French national at the start of the 21st century. The Gunners won the championship in the first season after the turn of the century and the following one too. In the 2003/2004 season however, Arsenal was not one of the favourites to win the title. Manchester United had a strong team and Chelsea had just spent £100 million on reinforcing the team, whilst Arsenal had only signed German goalkeeper Jens Lehman.

Despite expectations not being high, Arsenal experienced an unforgettable season. After a while, Arsenal was knocked out of the Champions League, the FA Cup and the League Cup. These were heavy blows for the club, but everything went perfectly in the league. Arsenal did not lose a single game in the Premier League that season. The team achieved 90 points from 26 games won and 12 games drawn. As the cherry on top of this incredible season, the final game was held at White Hart lane against rival Tottenham Hotspur. The Arsenal team, with players like Thierry Henry and Dennis Bergkamp were nicknamed “The Invincibles” for this unique achievement.

Henry Bergkamp

  1. Leicester City – From Promotion to Champion

The most surprising club in the list of Premier League champions is of course Leicester City. The club was an integral part of the second division in England for a long time, until the club was promoted in 2013/2014 under coach Nigel Pearson. The title in the Championship was celebrated as a big title by the Leicester City fans. When Leicester played in the Premier League again in 2014, the big goal was to stay in the league. They did this and finished the season as 14th.

But what happened in the next season, surprised everyone. Under Italian coach Claudio Ranieri, Leicester had an excellent start to the season, the team continued to win and ended up in first place in the league. Everyone thought that from now on, the team would only lose points. But when this didn’t happen the top clubs began to take notice. The star players from Leicester, Vardy and Mahrez, continued to score and in the background Morgan, Huth and Kante kept the goal clean. By the end of the season, Leicester City had scored a few more points than the rest, and everyone was beginning to believe that it could actually happen. And it did: After 38 game days Leicester was first in the league and had a 10 point lead on second placed Arsenal. The fairy tale had become reality.

Leicester City

  1. Manchester United – The Treble

The 1998/1999 was one of the most successful seasons in the history on Manchester United. Scottish coach Alex Ferguson was responsible for Manchester United this year. The team consisted of a balanced mix of top stars and young players such as Brian McClair, Gary Pallister and Jaap Stam. Stam had come from PSV that summer and was the largest transfer United had ever made. The transfer amounted to almost £11 million.

Manchester United’s mentality and quality were the keys to the clubs success that season. Manchester United became the first English club to win the Champions League, Premier League and FA Cup. After that season, United was officially the richest football club in the world, and more successes followed. In the following four years, Manchester United dominated the English league by becoming champions three times.

Manchester United treble

  1. Chelsea – The Special One

In 2004, Portuguese coach Jose Mourinho was on the Premier League coaching bench for the first time: at Chelsea. The then young and somewhat inexperienced Mourinho came from FC Porto, where he made a worldwide name for himself by winning the Cup, two Super Cups, two Championships, the Europa League and the Champions League in just two seasons. Given this performance, it was no wonder Chelsea wanted the coach.

Chelsea hadn’t won the league in 50 years at that point. In the 2003/2004 season they narrowly failed to win the title. They finished second with Claudio Ranieri as the coach at that point. Mourinho was expected to do better than Ranieri and lead the club to the long-awaited championship. And he did. Chelsea won the 2004/2005 league title and broke all sorts of records. At that point they had won the most points ever: 95! They also had the most away wins, the fewest goals conceded and the most clean sheets. “The Special one”, the nickname given to Mourinho, immediately made an impact and made his name as an absolute top coach.

Chelsea Mourinho

Do you want to visit a game in the Premier League? Click on the link below to see all football trips to Engeland.