THE 2 CLUBS IN MUNICH – Season 2019-20

For a long time, two Munich clubs played in the 1. Bundesliga. Bayern Munich, the record champion of Germany. And 1860 Munich, which has had difficult times and been relegated to the third Bundesliga.
Would you like to visit a Bayern Munich match? We will help you on your way to Munich with a football trip.


  1. All clubs on the map
  2. Bayern Munich
  3. 1860 Munich
  4. Allianz Arena


Football clubs Munich


Bayern Munich is the most successful football club in Germany. Die Rekordmeister won the league 29 times, the DFB Cup18 times, the League Cup 6 times and the Super Cup7 times. In Europe, the club won the Champions League/European Cup 5 times and the UEFA Cup / European Cup 2 twice. After its establishment in 1900, Bayern Munich played in the regional competitions. In 1931, the first championship was won via the play-offs. It would be a while before the next prizes were won. Bayern won the DFB Cup in 1957. It wasn’t until the 1970’s that the club really got started.

Bayern Munich Champions


Thanks to captain Franz Beckenbauer, Bayern won three national titles in a row. On top of that they won three consecutive European Cups in 1974, 1975 and 1976. Der Kaiser started playing football at the other club, 1860 Munich, but after a fight with an opponent he transferred to Bayern Munich. Beckenbauer, world champion of 1974, became a club icon and one of the best players of his time. Later he became a successful coach and a chairman of Bayern Munich.
Bayern experienced varied successes throughout the 1980s and 1990s. From 2000 onwards the club rose to great heights. Under Ottmar Hitzfeld the Champions League was won in 2001, a few prizes were won in Germany under Louis van Gaal and Bayern became champion three times in a row under Pep Guardiola. The club continued that series until 2019, winning 6 Bundesliga titles in a row.

One UK player to have play for Bayern Munich was Owen Hargreaves. He started off in the amateur team when he was only 16 years old. In 2000, Hargreaves played in his first Bundesliga match against Hertha Berlin. In 2004-05 Hargreaves won another German championship and DFB Cup. He made 27 appearances in the Bundesliga and played in three Cup games and eight Champions League games. In the 2006-07 season Hargreaves unfortunately broke his leg, which made him unavailable for most of Bayern’s league campaign that season. Although he did recover in time to participate in Bayern’s victory over Real Madrid in the Champions League. In total, Hargreaves played 145 top-flight matches in Germany for FC Bayern Munich.

Owen Hargreaves Bayern Munich

3. 1860 MUNICH

TSV 1860 Munich is the oldest professional football club in Munich. The club’s successes are in the past however: a title in 1966 and the DFB Cup in 1942 and 1964. The club with a lion on the logo played in the Bundesliga from the start, when the competition was introduced. Because the German Football Association only allowed one club per city at the time, there was no starting place for Bayern Munich in the Bundesliga.

In the first year the Bundesliga existed, 1860 Munich placed 7th and the club won the DFB Cup. In the European adventure that followed, Die Löwen made it to the final of the European Cup 2. In a packed Wembley stadium, West Ham proved too strong for the German team. The following year, the club secured its only national championship in club history. After being relegated, 1860 suffered from financial difficulties in the 1980s, resulting in the departure of many players, including star-player Rudi Völler. The club returned to the highest level, but the financial issues returned. One time neighbour Bayern Munich came to the rescue and later a Jordanian investor invested into the club, but it went downhill with 1860. In 2017, the club ended up in the amateur competition because the financial requirements for the third Bundesliga were not met. Now 1860 Munich plays in the 3. Bundesliga.

1860 Munich Squad


Bayern Munich and TSV 1860 Munich initially played in the Grünwalder Stadium, until a new stadium was built for the Olympic Games in 1972: The Olympiastadion (69,000 spectators). Prior to the 2005-2006 season, they moved into the new Allianz Arena together. The Allianz Arena has 75,000 spectator places. When FC Bayern Munich has a home game, the arena is illuminated in red. The arena was illuminated in blue for the matches of TSV 1860 Munich. During the Munich derby, one half of the stadium was illuminated in red and the other in blue. Due to financial problems, 1860 was forced to move back to the old Grünwalder Stadium in 2017. The Grünwalder Stadium only has space for 10,000 spectators. The Allianz Arena is one of the most modern stadiums in Europe, but despite the relatively new stadium, plenty of history has been made. For example, in 2006 the opening match of the World Cup was played in the stadium and in 2012 the final of the UEFA Champions League was played in the Allianz Arena, too.

Allianz Arena Germany

Would you like to visit a Bayern Munich match or another Bundesliga club? View our selection here.